kyndallrae

creating me [using words]

The Sanctity of Pizza

It is only Thursday, but it feels like Friday because I am planning to make pizza tonight for dinner. Weekday pizza puts a certain weekend-buoyancy in my spirit, and I feel lighter, more relaxed.

Nate and I are trying to improve the health of our diet these days–so far, by adding vegetables and cutting out processed foods. But I can tell you right now, pizza is here to stay. Aside from sprinkling a few spinach leaves on top of the cheese, I am not even attempting to make it more nutritional. Pizza is too sacred to mess with, you know?

I am a big believer in discipline, fasting, moderation and the like. But I also consider it a spiritual practice to eat what you love and let yourself enjoy it. This is an especially good practice for the uptight, the calorie-counters, the worried, and the perfectionists. Amen.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Sanctity of Pizza

  1. kaitlyndlee on said:

    LOVE this post. I feel like printing it off and posting it on my fridge.

  2. Just make sure there aren’t TOO many sweets in the fridge before you post it. :)

Leave a Reply

.Joysong.

creating me [using words]

What Would Jesus Eat?

Exploring the convergence of theology, consumerism, food, ecology and economy

Momastery

creating me [using words]

