kyndallrae

creating me [using words]

Scandal

Rage, you fill my rooms
like a nosy aunt
taking up space
with large hips
and sharp tongue.
I think you a nuisance

until I notice you
are on a war-path
purging my house
of all the silly doilies,
niceties that keep me docile.
You are not what you seem!
Wide-eyed I run after
what you’ve discarded as trash,
stuff my closets when your back is turned.
You are making such a ruckus!
murdering off my petticoats.
What will the neighbors think?
Frantic, I bake polite cookies
to cover the stench of carnage–
my pretty things
now white-faced corpses
my darling hats
rotting into skulls.
Good God, what would the church ladies say
if they stopped for tea, just now?
I run behind you with a mop
but it is no use.
It’s all a wreck.
Even the one box of bones
I knew I had
hidden in the attic corner
you’ve placed on the mantle
like an arrangement of trophies.

I try to sweet talk you into being calm.
You tell me in clear terms,
this is no time for calm.
“I AM ALWAYS CALM!”
I shout with irony.
“Why do you think I came?”
you whisper with mischief.

I hate you and love you and need you
all at the same time.
Where did you even come from?!
You cackle. You came from
the backyard, where I buried you.
I gasp. I blush. I did no such thing!
But in the recesses of my memory,
I can feel the weight of your large body
as I hauled you in the secret night
and dug a grave,
then washed my hands and
served up scones in the morning.
Good Lord! In shock I stare down at my hands,
as if seeing them for the first time.
“I forgive you,” you say.
I look into your blood-red eyes unashamedly,
“Welcome back,” I say.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Scandal

  1. Linda Cross on said:

    Shall we just call you “Emily D” for short? ;-)

    Linda Cross 214.728.6457 Sent from my iPhone

  2. Linda Cross on said:

    Very nice!

    Linda Cross 214.728.6457 Sent from my iPhone

  3. dellisphelps on said:

    Raw. Real. You are an impossibly good, amazingly honest, exceptional writer. Wow!

  4. Guys. Your comments are making my day. Every writer loves feedback, but on this day especially, it means more than ever. Thanks for reading, truly!

  5. Diana Bridges on said:

    In this I especially love the polite cookies, having baked more than a few myself. It seems that Scandal is one part truth to three parts hyperbole. Some church ladies enjoy that because it distracts them from the sheet rock they wear in place of contact lenses. The good church ladies come in, laugh knowingly and derisively at Scandal until she leaves, and help clean up the mess.

  6. Hasn’t every woman baked them by the dozens? :) Thank you for laughing knowingly.

  7. Resonates with my heart deeply! It is beautiful, really. Not the beautiful that one would commonly think, but rather the beauty of a true soul. Thanks so much for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

.Joysong.

creating me [using words]

What Would Jesus Eat?

Exploring the convergence of theology, consumerism, food, ecology and economy

Momastery

creating me [using words]

