kyndallrae

creating me [using words]

Regret

I wish I had abandoned
my meditation to stand
outdoors in the rain
to feel sensual drops
touch my skin and the
holy water cascade
down my head
Only a drizzle remained
by the time I tidily finished
my indoor work
and now I cannot enter
the day sopping,
drenched, covered
only vaguely dampened

Do not pray yourself
into avoiding the answer,
nor worry yourself out from
grace, nor raise your
disciplines like an umbrella
to ward off spontaneous
splashes of divine downpour

Do not hide your heart in poncho
fear nor preserve your hair
at the expense of living
nor refuse to stroke the mud
from which you came,
its ooze still reeking
of God’s own stirring breath

Open your eyes, go outside
with stretched arms,
receive every drop
that falls from the heavens
Then you shall know God

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Regret

  1. Linda Cross on said:

    Beautiful!

    Linda

    214.728.6457

  2. dellisphelps on said:

    “mud from which you came…God’s own stirring breath” beautiful imagery.

  3. Anonymous on said:

    Wow! It is a beautiful writing.

Leave a Reply

.Joysong.

creating me [using words]

What Would Jesus Eat?

Exploring the convergence of theology, consumerism, food, ecology and economy

Momastery

creating me [using words]

