kyndallrae

creating me [using words]

Frisbee Prayers

I stare at this frisbee
receptacle, rusted,
out of use (I think)
and I am grateful
for this sport
I’ve never played
because it is why
there are walking trails
among the small woods
in the park down the street–
the trees preserved
rather than plowed
because of this odd little pole
with a wire basket and chains.
I think too of the solitary
one we have at the church–
someone donated it
who knows when–and
it just sits there
to no good purpose
except that it speaks
to me on rare occasion
of the beautiful quirkiness
of this particular sacred space
where I spend my days–
this holy ground,
this carved-out-to-be
contemplative community
for Baptists who do not
know the strange word:
con-tem-play-tive
they stutter awkwardly
and do not know what to do
with this wide open
spaciousness and thus
they bring frisbee golf
as their offering
and offer stilted silences
as prayers. They confess
doubt as their show of faith
and exhibit willingness to
collide with what they
do not understand
It does not matter a bit
if any of it is
out of place, because all
is welcome
in God’s presence,
even rusted metal.

What might it feel like
to toss our cautious,
careful, self-conscious
praying into the wind
like the plastic disc
that it is, watch
with dread as it leaves
the controlling grasp
of our clenched fingertips,
begins to soar, unbounded,
let the breeze carry it
where it will?
For quite some time now
I’ve thought of Holy Spirit
and wind as one-in-the-same,
Breath of God, gust of air,
entwined, carrying our meager
words straight to the heavens,
then whispering back loud
like an ocean breeze,
“You are loved. You are free.”

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Frisbee Prayers

  1. Anita Valles on said:

    Beautiful! I am very impressed!

  2. I love this, and my whole “teach kids about this stuff” mind wants to say… let’s give our kids frisbees and let them make them in to prayers. Love, love triple love. Thankful for you.

  3. Linda Cross on said:

    I like this!

    Linda

    214.728.6457

  4. Kelsey Rothaus on said:

    I love how you find deep meaning and difficult lessons in things other people would not take the time to notice. This is really good, in more ways than one.

    • I was at a retreat and they told us to pick something to write about it, and I just *knew* I was going to pick something in nature like a good poet–you know, write about the exquisite beauty of a leaf or something. And then this disc golf thing, just forlornly sitting there, kept waving to me, saying, “Hello! Write about me.” I’m learning it is imperative to listen to the tiny nudges, and the weirder they seem, possibly the more important they are.

      • Anonymous on said:

        There is wisdom in those words about ideas for writing: the weirder they seem the more important they are.
        Frisbee prayers is a good description of how open and willing we should be to release to God all that is in our hearts and minds, even or especially when we don’t trust our aim.

Leave a Reply

.Joysong.

creating me [using words]

What Would Jesus Eat?

Exploring the convergence of theology, consumerism, food, ecology and economy

Momastery

creating me [using words]

