kyndallrae

creating me [using words]

Slowly Learning

I am learning, against my will, learning
that help still comes
and grace shows its face
though it was another face
I longed for
though all seems lost
and the road too long
and these shoes give me blisters
Despite all the bumps along the way
I did not want
detours I did not choose
broken bones and broken hearts
I am learning, against my will, learning
there is sun and wind
and wildflowers too
even the more desolate trails
gift me with grass and the
occasional green blade of hope
waving singularly amidst dried thistle
I am learning, against my will, learning
that even when some betray,
others move in closer
and I am never alone
some let go while others hold on
and my arms are never empty
I did not want to learn
these lessons, I wanted it
all to stay peachy, but then
it didn’t stay that way–
maybe it never was–
and when I opened my heart
grumpily to let the pain in, pain
entered holding hands with joy
and I found them both company
in my house. I sat them
at my table, stared in wonder,
never seen such a mismatched pair,
but there they were
at home in me
together
as if we’d always lived this way.
I am learning, against my will, learning
how to keep the peace
in my home between them
how to keep the peace in me–
it’s slippery!–how to notice
the peace as I walk
through the valley of shadows.
I am leaning in to the mercies.
I am learning, against my will, learning.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Slowly Learning

  1. “and the
    occasional green blade of hope
    waving singularly amidst dried thistle”

    When I read this, the word “green” jumped at me, thistle being an absolute necessity for the green, with green’s vivid annunciation in the midst of thistle, a green that would be lost – as it so often is, to our often green-flooded (and therefore green-forgetting) eyes. Mine, anyway.

    “never seen such a mismatched pair”

    Ah, that’s lovely.

Leave a Reply

.Joysong.

creating me [using words]

What Would Jesus Eat?

Exploring the convergence of theology, consumerism, food, ecology and economy

Momastery

creating me [using words]

